top of page
Woman Walking


Test of Italian as Foreign Language 

The PLIDA (Progetto Lingua Italiana Dante Alighieri) exam is an internationally recognized certification of proficiency in the Italian language. Developed by the Società Dante Alighieri in collaboration with the University of Rome "La Sapienza," the PLIDA exam assesses language skills across four levels: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, and C2, corresponding to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).

The PLIDA exam evaluates proficiency in various language skills, including listening, reading, writing, and speaking, through a series of tasks and exercises designed to reflect real-life communication scenarios. Each level of the exam tests different linguistic competencies and becomes progressively more challenging as candidates advance through the levels.

Achieving PLIDA certification demonstrates not only a high level of linguistic proficiency but also a deep understanding of Italian culture and society. It is widely recognized by universities, employers, and institutions around the world as proof of language competency for academic, professional, and personal purposes.

Preparing for the PLIDA exam involves comprehensive study of Italian grammar, vocabulary, and language usage, as well as practice with sample exam materials and mock tests. Many language schools and cultural institutions offer specialized courses and exam preparation programs to help candidates succeed in their PLIDA exams.

Whether for academic advancement, career opportunities, or personal enrichment, obtaining PLIDA certification is a valuable asset for anyone interested in mastering the Italian language and engaging with Italian culture on a deeper level.

  1. A1 - Beginner: This level is for candidates who have just started learning Italian. At this level, candidates are expected to understand and use familiar everyday expressions and basic phrases. They can introduce themselves and others and ask and answer questions about personal details such as where they live, people they know, and things they have.

  2. A2 - Elementary: At this level, candidates can understand sentences and frequently used expressions related to areas of most immediate relevance (e.g., basic personal and family information, shopping, local geography, employment). They can communicate in simple and routine tasks requiring a simple and direct exchange of information on familiar and routine matters.

  3. B1 - Intermediate: This level indicates a threshold level of competence in Italian. Candidates at this level can understand the main points of clear standard input on familiar matters regularly encountered in work, school, leisure, etc. They can deal with most situations likely to arise while traveling in an Italian-speaking area. They can produce simple connected text on topics that are familiar or of personal interest.

  4. B2 - Upper Intermediate: Candidates at this level have a good grasp of the Italian language. They can understand the main ideas of complex text on both concrete and abstract topics, including technical discussions in their field of specialization. They can interact with a degree of fluency and spontaneity that makes regular interaction with native speakers quite possible without strain for either party.

  5. C1 - Advanced: This level indicates proficiency in Italian and the ability to understand a wide range of demanding, longer texts, and recognize implicit meaning. Candidates at this level can express themselves fluently and spontaneously without much obvious searching for expressions. They can use language flexibly and effectively for social, academic, and professional purposes.

  6. C2 - Proficient: This is the highest level of proficiency in Italian. Candidates at this level can understand with ease virtually everything heard or read. They can summarize information from different spoken and written sources, reconstructing arguments and accounts in a coherent presentation. They can express themselves spontaneously, very fluently, and precisely, differentiating finer shades of meaning even in the most complex situations.

Applying for Italian Citizenship


The PLIDA exam can also be used as proof of Italian language proficiency when applying for Italian citizenship. In fact, obtaining a certain level of proficiency in Italian is often a requirement for naturalization as an Italian citizen.

Many countries, including Italy, have language requirements for citizenship applicants to ensure that they can integrate effectively into society and communicate with their fellow citizens. The PLIDA exam provides an internationally recognized standard for assessing language proficiency, making it a valuable tool for individuals seeking Italian citizenship.

Depending on the specific requirements of the Italian government at the time of application, candidates may need to achieve a minimum level of proficiency in Italian, typically at the B1 or B2 level of the CEFR. Achieving PLIDA certification at these levels demonstrates to immigration authorities that candidates have the necessary language skills to live and work in Italy successfully.

The PLIDA test can be taken in person only.




The duration of the exam depends on the level being taken and ranges from a minimum of 1 hour and 30 minutes for levels A1 and A2 to a maximum of 4 hours for levels C1 and C2.


During the exam, candidates face various sections that assess listening, reading, writing, and speaking skills. 

Once the exam is completed, the test papers are evaluated by examiners according to specific criteria established by the certifying body. Results are then communicated to the candidates usually within a few weeks of the exam date.

Classmates in Library


97% Pass Rate!

bottom of page